The setting – AlwaysMoveRecordToOwnerBusinessUnit allows us to move a user to another business unit without moving all his owned records to that unit.
This makes sure that other users in the new business unit cannot access the user’s records from his previous business unit (unless they have organization-level access / or have a role in that unit / or records are shared)
Also Check –
EnableOwnershipAcrossBusinessUnits setting https://nishantrana.me/2022/01/05/how-to-change-users-business-unit-without-removing-the-security-roles-in-dynamics-365-powerapps-enableownershipacrossbusinessunits-setting/
By default this setting is true.
Get the Organization Settings Editor – https://github.com/seanmcne/OrgDbOrgSettings/releases
Let us see the default behavior first, below are the 2 contact records created by User 2 who belongs to BU 1.
Now let us change the Business Unit of User 2 to BU 2.
After changing the BU of the user 2 we have assigned the same security role to the user which he has had in BU 1 that gave him BU level access on the Contact records.
We can see both Owner and Owning Business Unit getting updated as expected.
Now we’d see what will happen if we update the setting AlwaysMoveRecordToOwnerBusinessUnit to False.
But before doing that let us change the business unit of User 2 back to BU 1.
As expected Owning Business Unit is updated back to BU 1
Now let us update the setting to false –
This time changing the business unit of User 2 to BU 2 should not update the Owning Business Unit of the contact records owned by User 2 to BU2.
As expected this time the Owning Business Unit remained BU 1.
Based on the true or false value set for AlwaysMoveRecordToOwnerBusinessUnit , we can see the checkbox “Move records to new business unit” either checked or unchecked – but always DISABLED.
If AlwaysMoveRecordToOwnerBusinessUnit is true than – the disabled checkbox is checked –
Get more details below –
Hope it helps..